VetsGuide
Name
Major
State or Province
School Type

 

Further Education for Veterans

By Julia O’Dell and Randy Wilson 

Say you’re a single dad, recently discharged from the Army, who needs more education to get a better job. Perhaps you are a veteran in middle age whose job is being phased out due to the demands of a higher educated work force.  Or maybe you’re a veteran who saw combat in Iraq or Afghanistan – and you’re not sure what to do now. In order to find success in today’s society, many veterans are required to learn new skills, and further education is often the only answer to starting a second career.

One program established to assist veterans with making the transition to higher education is Veterans Upward Bound (VUB), a free U. S. Department of Education (ED) funded program whose primary focus is education. VUB projects help qualifying veterans make the transition from military to civilian life, complete their GED, or enter college or other postsecondary training programs. VUB is an educational and skills program designed specifically to serve the needs of veterans, whether they are from the Vietnam era, the 80’s or 90’s, or today’s combat veterans of Iraq or Afghanistan. The program can be described as ‘academic boot camp’ and assists veterans in preparing to succeed in the classroom.

VUB offers a unique range of services designed to prepare veterans to enter their chosen educational program, whether it is at a 2-year community college, a 4-year college or university, or a public or private vocational or technical school.  All services offered by VUB, including instruction, textbooks, advising, and supplies, are provided free of charge for qualifying veterans. 

The program provides non-credit academic refresher courses specifically tailored to the needs of each veteran. Participants can strengthen their writing, reading, math, basic science, and computer skills before they start college. The program also provides assistance in understanding the complexities of the GI Bill system and assists participants in applying for those benefits.

VUB also recognizes that the Veteran student is going to need more than just academics to make it in higher education. The 49 VUB programs, nationwide and in Puerto Rico, provide academic and career assessments, study-skills assistance, help with filling out financial aid and school applications, career development, tutoring, mentoring, financial literacy and many additional one-to-one services. The goal is to place veterans in higher education environments that best match their education and career goals, after ‘knocking the rust off of their academic skills.’ Between the refresher classes, veterans are provided with a chance to engage in the college experience through cultural and career activities at no cost to them. Veterans can develop the mental discipline to graduate from a postsecondary institution, and be successful in a second career.

Since 1972, there have been thousands of success stories, including veterans who have become doctors, lawyers, educators, businessmen, engineers, and social workers. VUB is a proven program designed to assist eligible veterans, but the veterans themselves must take the first step. Make the commitment and take the time to enroll in VUB today!

For more information about the VUB, and to find the program nearest you, please visit our website at www.navub.org <http://navub.org/>  or in the pages following this article.

 Julia O’Dell is the Director of Veterans Upward Bound at the University of Kansas and Randy Wilson is the Director of VUB at Weber State University in Utah.

Refer to the following pages for the Veterans Upward Bound Program in your state. Be sure to tell the program director about tuition credits and any academic credits you may have earned while on active duty.

 

North Alabama Center for Educational Excellence 

Earnest Davis

earnest.davis@aaum.edu

513 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, Alabama  35816

(256) 372-4600
(256) 722-9795

http://www.nacee.net/vub.htm

 

Gadsden State Community College 

Tia Freeman

tfreeman@gadsdenstate.edu

P.O. Box 227
Gadsden, Alabama  35902

(256) 549-8286
(256) 238-8282

http://www.gadsdenstate.edu/college-life/veterans-upward-bound.php

 

Arizona State University 

Veronica Hernandez

P.O Box 871912
1250 S College Avenue, Irish A 121
Tempe, Arizona  85287

(480) 965-3994
(480) 965-1294

http://vub.asu.edu
VUB@asu.edu 

 

Yavapai College 

Jane Hersh

jane.hersh@yc.edu

1100 E. Sheldon Street PMB 6008
Prescott, Arizona  86301

(928) 776-2091
(928) 776-2083

http://www.yc.edu/vub
vub@yc.edu 

 

University of Arkansas 

Janelle Bollman

jbollman@uark.edu

1001 E. Sain Street
133 Uptown
Fayetteville, Arkansas  72701

(479) 575-2565
(479) 575-4279

http://precollege.uark.edu

 

Pulaski Technical College 

Jackie Johnson

jyjohnson@pulaskitech.edu

3000 W Scenic Drive
Administration A Room 135
North Little Rock, Arkansas  72118

(501) 812-2802
(501) 812-2805

http://www.pulaskitech.edu/vub

 

Henderson State University 

Shawna McNeal-McKenzie

mckenzs@hsu.edu

1100 Henderson Drive
P O Box 7503
Arkadelphia, Arkansas  71999

(870) 230-5600
(870) 230-5708

http://www.hsu.edu/Provost/TRIO/Veterans-upward-bound.html

 

TELACU VUB 

Yesenia Guerra

yguerra@TELACU.com

5400 East Olympic Blvd.
Suite 130
Los Angeles, California  90022

(323) 832-5428
(323) 728-3517

http://telacu.com/telacu-education-foundation/college-readiness-programs/veterans-upward-bound/

 

Santa Ana College 

Lilia Tanakeyowma

Tanakeyowma_lilia@sac.edu

1530 W. 17th Street ( R-101)
Santa Ana, California  92706

714-564-6288
714-564-6294

http://www.sac.edu/vub
veteransub@sac.edu 

 

Metropolitan State University of Denver 

Leroy Chavez

chavezL@msudenver.edu

Campus Box 89
P.O. Box 173362
Denver, Colorado  80217

(303) 556-3946
(303) 556-6245

http://www.msudenver.edu/vub/
vubmet@msudenver.edu 

 

Colorado State University - Pueblo 

Shawn Taylor

shawn.taylor@colostate-pueblo.edu

2200 Bonforte Blvd.
Pueblo, Colorado  81001

(719) 549-2824
(719) 549-2914

http://www.colostate-pueblo.edu/StudentLife/TRIO/VeteransUpwardBound/Pages/default.aspx

vub@ppcc.edu 

 

Pensacola State College 

Mark Nisbett

mnisbett@pensacolastate.edu

1000 College Boulevard
Bldg 6, RM 651
Pensacola, Florida  32504

(850) 484-2068
(850) 471-4553

http://www.pensacolastate.edu/services/UpwardBound.asp
vetsupbound@pensacolastate.edu 

 

Georgia State University 

Jacquelyn Willis-Walker

jwillis7@gsu.edu

PO Box 3983
Atlanta, Georgia  30302

(404) 413-1769
(404) 413-1751

http://www.gsu.edu/oeo 

 

Boise State University 

Mark Heilman

markheilman@boisestate.edu

1910 University Drive
Boise, Idaho  83725

(208) 426-3630
(208) 426-1849

Http://education.boisestate.edu/vub

 

Roosevelt University 

Christopher Chalko

cchalko@roosevelt.edu

430 S. Michigan Avenue
Suite 715 GB
Chicago, Illinois  60605

(312) 462-7532
(312) 462-7500

http://www.veterans-ru.org

 

Vincennes University 

Judith Ann Gardner

jgardner@vinu.edu

3833 N. Meridian Street
Suite 300
Indianapolis, Indiana  46208

(317) 927-9605
(317) 926-1353

vub@vinu.edu 

 

Wichita State University 

Shukura Bakari-Cozart

shukura.cozart@wichita.edu

1845 Fairmount St.
Box 137
Wichita, Kansas  67260

(316) 978-6742
(316) 978-3676

http://www.wichita.edu/vub

 

University of Kansas 

Julia O'Dell

jodell@ku.edu

Gateway Tower II, Suite 105
400 State Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas  66101

(913) 321-5512
(913) 321-5564

http://vub.ku.edu
vub@ku.edu 

 

Western Kentucky University 

Davy Stone

davy.stone@wku.edu

1906 College Heights Blvd., 11098
Bowling Green, Kentucky  42101

(270) 745-5310
(270) 745-6876
(270) 745-5987

http://www.wku.edu/vub
veterans.upward.bound@wku.edu 

 

University of Louisiana at Lafayette 

Robert Carmouche

rlc1713@louisiana.edu

P.O. Box 43452
Lafayette, Louisiana  70504

(337) 482-6831
(337) 482-5069

http://gs.louisiana.edu/vub

 

Southeastern Louisiana University 

Chevonne Neal

chevonne.neal@selu.edu

SLU 10548
North Campus Building B, Rm #171
Hammond, Louisiana  70402

(985) 549-3386
(985) 549-2024

http://www.selu.edu/acad_research/programs/vub/index.html

vub@selu.edu 

 

Delgado Community College 

Mark Simms

msimms@dcc.edu

615 City Park Ave.
Bldg. #2 / Rm #204
New Orleans, Louisiana  70119

(504) 671-5390
(504) 483-1857

http://www.dcc.edu/student-services/advising/veterans-affairs/upwardbound.aspx

 

Prince George Community College 

A’Lelianne Warren P.H.D

warrevax@pgcc.edu

301 Largo Road-Bladen Hall 122
Largo, Maryland 20774  

301-546-0521

vub@pgcc.edu 

 

University of Massachusetts at Boston 

Lovelle Seymore

lovelle.seymore@umb.edu

100 Morrissey Blvd
Room M3-704
Boston, Massachusetts  02125

(617) 287-5870
(617) 287-5874
(617) 287-5815

http://www.veterans-ub.umb.edu

veteransupwardbound@umb.edu 

 

Suffolk University 

Michael Smith

mjsmith@suffolk.edu

73 Tremont Street
Boston, Massachusetts  02108

(617) 725-4101
1.888.Hero.2.Sc
(617) 994-6864

http://www.suffolk.edu/vub

vub@suffolk.edu 

 

Wayne State University 

Paul Rease

ac2610@wayne.edu

5425 Woodward
Suite 221
Detroit, Michigan  48207

(313) 577-9716
(313) 993-9727

http://federaltrio.wayne.edu/veterans/

Minneapolis Community and Technical College 

Craig Asche

craig.asche@minneapolis.edu

1501 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, Minnesota  55403

(612) 659-6580
(612) 659-6569

http://www.minneapolis.edu/vub

University of Kansas 

Julia O'Dell

jodell@ku.edu

Gateway Tower II, Suite 105
400 State Avenue
Kansas City, Missouri  66101

(913) 321-5512
(913) 321-5564

http://www2.ku.edu/~vub/

vub@ku.edu 

 

Metropolitan Community College - Penn Valley 

Carl Alexander

carl.alexander@mcckc.edu

3201 Southwest Trafficway
Kansas City, Missouri  64111

(816) 604-4348
(816) 759-4570

http://www.mcckc.edu/services/military/vub

 

Montana State University 

Director Search In Progress

lpetriccione@msubillings.edu

Northern Center for VET
1500 University Drive, CISEL Hall, Room 109
Billings, Montana  59101

(406) 657-2086
(406) 657-2077

http://www.vubmt.com

Western Nebraska Community College 

Ce Merrigan

merrigan@wncc.net

1601 E. 27th Street
Scottsbluff, Nebraska  69361

(308) 635-6091
(308) 635-6055

http://www.wncc.edu/student-life/student-success/trio-programs/veterans-upward-bound

Truckee Meadows Community College 

Robert Hernandez

rhernandez@tmcc.edu

Meadowood Center
5270 Neil Road, Rm 303
Reno, Nevada  89502

(775) 829-9007
(775) 829-9048

http://www.tmcc.edu/veterans-upward-bound/

 

University of New Mexico - Taos 

Randy Larry

rlarry@unm.edu

1157 County Road 110
Ranchos de Taos, New Mexico  87557

http://taos.unm.edu/veteransupwardbound

 

LaGuardia Community College 

Vicki Bello

vbello@lagcc.edu

31-10 Thomson Avenue
Rm C371
Long Island, New York  11101

(718) 482-5391
(718) 482-5231
(718) 609-2025

vets@lagcc.cuny.ecdu 

 

 

Central Carolina Community College 

Ashley Tittemore

atittmore@cccc.edu

1105 Kelly Drive
Sanford, North Carolina  27330

919-718-7463

http://www.cccc.edu/studentservices/upwardbound/veterans/

veteransub@cccc.edu 

 

Cuyahoga Community College 

Marjorie Morrison

Marjorie.Morrison@Tri-C.edu

2900 Community College Ave.
MSS 500
Cleveland, Ohio  44115

(216) 987-4938
(216) 987-0255

http://www.tri-c.edu/vub 

 

Cincinnati State Technical and Community College 

Terence Harrison

terence.harrison@cincinnatistate.edu

3520 Central Parkway
Cincinnati, Ohio  45223

(513) 569-4853
(513) 569-1480

terence.harrison@cincinnatistate.edu 

 

East Central University 

Mary Meeks

mmeeks@ecok.edu

1100 East 14th
PMB S-36
Ada, Oklahoma  74820

(580) 559-5541
(580) 559-5224

https://www.ecok.edu/trio/vub

 

Redlands Community College 

Brennan Apostolo

brennan.apostolo@redlandscc.edu

1300 S. Country Club Road
El Reno, Oklahoma  73036

(405) 422-1451
(405) 422-1276

https://www.redlandscc.edu/index.php?q=content/trio-veterans-upward-bound

 

University of Pennsylvania 

Diane Sandefur

sandefur@exchange.upenn.edu

220 S. 40th Street
Suite 260
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania  19104

(215) 898-6892
(215) 898-9301

http://www.vpul.upenn.edu/eap/vub/

 

Aspira Inc. de Puerto Rico 

Angela Santiago Medina

vub@pr.aspira.org

P.O. Box 29132
65th Infantry Station
San Juan, Puerto Rico  00929

(787) 641-1985
(787) 257-2725

http://pr.aspira.org/progr_pr_span.html#Program/UpwardBound

 

Trident Technical College 

Sylvia Gilliard

Sylvia.Gilliard@tridenttech.edu

Veterans Upward Bound VB-M, 7000 Rivers Avenue
PO Box 118067, Bldg. 700, Room 127
Charleston, South Carolina  29423

(843) 574-6871
(843) 574-6879

http://www.tridenttech.edu/student/help/eop/st_vetup.htm

 

Black Hills Area/WNCC Program 

Rick Rhode

rhoder@wncc.net

321 Kansas City Street
National American University
Rapid City, South Dakota  57702

(605) 394-5002
(605) 394-4871

http://www.wncc.edu/student-life/student-success/trio-programs/veterans-upward-bound

 

University of Tennessee 

Tammi Basile

tbasile@utk.edu

1914 Andy Holt Ave.
Room 25 HPER Building
Knoxville, Tennessee  37996

(865) 974-2132
(865) 974-5046

http://caps.utk.edu

utkvub@utk.edu 

 

East Tennessee State University 

Len Morrison

morrisol@etsu.edu

Box 70306
Johnson City, Tennessee  37614

(423) 439-2282
(423) 439-2281
(423) 439-2100

http://www.etsu.edu/vub
vubvets@etsu.edu 

 

University of Texas at Arlington 

Lisa Thompson

lthompson@uta.edu

P.O. Box 19345
Arlington, Texas  76019

817-272-9882

http://www.uta.edu/veteransub
veteransub@uta.edu 

University of Texas at Brownsville 

Rene Valdez

rene.valdez@utb.edu

One West University Blvd
Student Union 2.28
Brownsville, Texas  78520

(956) 882-7609
(956) 882-7607

http://www.utb.edu/em/vub/Pages/default.aspx
veteransupwardbound@utb.edu 

 

Weber State University 

Randy Wilson

randalwilson@weber.edu

1308 University Circle
Odgen, Utah  84408

(801) 626-7173
(801) 626-8946
(801) 626-6826

http://www.weber.edu/vetsupwardbound
vub@weber.edu 

 

Southwest Virginia Community College 

Gwendalyn Slone

Gwendalyn.Slone@sw.edu

PO Box SVCC
724 Community College Road
Richlands, Virginia  24641

(276) 964-7663
(276) 964-7514

 

Davis & Elkins College 

Mark Rosencrance

rosencrancem@dewv.edu

100 Campus Drive
Elkins, West Virginia  26241

(304) 637-1257
(304) 637-1428

http://www.vubwv.org

 

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee 

Dr. Charles Allen
ceallen@uwm.edu3203 Downer Ave.
Mitchell 163
Milwaukee, Wisconsin  53211
(414) 229-2607

(414) 229-5758

https:/www4.uwm.edu/trio/veterans